Links zu Partnerseiten Link zu Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt am Main Link zu Goethe-Universität Link zu ZAFES Link zu NESTRA Link zu Rheumazentrum Rhein-Main

Team

Frank Behrens, M.D.: Medical Director and Managing Partner of CIRI

Raised in Lower Franconia, Dr. Behrens initially studied biology at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and continued with medicine. He obtained his M.D. at the Johann Wolfgang Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main, where he received training in internal medicine and rheumatology. He moved to Frankfurt’s Pharmaceutical Center in 2003 to work on a grant-supported research project on regulatory T-cells (immunopharmacology), and returned to rheumatology thereafter.
He has been working in clinical research and drug development since 2001 He built up the functional area of clinical rheumatology research at the Goethe University Medical Center, which he has managed since 2007.

Subsequent to the founding ofthe interdisciplinary “Center for Drug Research, Development and Safety (ZAFES)“ as an institute of the Goethe University, he has been co-ordinating the rheumatology division. In 2011, Dr. Behrens founded the “Center for Innovative Diagnostics and Therapy in Rheumatology/Immunology (CIRI)” together with his co-partners, as a Goethe University partner institute to carry out clinical research and systematically advance the development of this field in Frankfurt am Main.

Dr. Behrens is a (founding) member of various international committees and study groups such as GRAPPA (Group of Research and Assessment of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis), EPOSS (Expert Panel on Outcome of Systemic Sclerosis), PAGE (Psoriatic Arthritis Genetic European Consortium) and others. Since 2001, he has accumulated experience in clinical study implementation as a principal investigator, chief investigator and managing investigator for Germany. He is co-responsible for one of the largest investigator-initiated studies (IIT) in rheumatology in Germany and initiator of NESTRA, the German Study Network.

Publications

back

Links zu Partnerseiten Link zu Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt am Main Link zu Goethe-Universität Link zu ZAFES Link zu NESTRA Link zu Rheumazentrum Rhein-Main

Team

Dr. med. Frank Behrens: Ärztlicher Direktor und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter des CIRI

Aufgewachsen in Unterfranken studierte er zunächst Biologie an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität in Mainz und später Humanmedizin. Er promovierte an der Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main und führte dort seine internistische und rheumatologische Ausbildung durch. Im Rahmen eines Stipendiums wechselte er 2003 zur Durchführung eines Forschungsprojekt zu regulatorischen T-Zellen an das Pharmazentrum Frankfurt (Immunpharmakologie), um später in die Rheumatologie zurückzukehren.
Seit 2001 beschäftigt er sich mit klinischer Forschung und Arzneimittelentwicklung und baute den Funktionsbereich klinische Forschung der Rheumatologie des Klinikums der Goethe-Universität auf, dessen Leiter er seit 2007 ist.

Seit Gründung des interdisziplinären „Zentrums für Arzneimittelforschung, Entwicklung und Sicherheit (ZAFES)“ als Institut der Goethe-Universität ist er in diesem der Koordinator für den Bereich Rheumatologie. 2011 gründete Dr. Behrens gemeinsam mit seinen Mitgesellschaftern das „Centrum für innovative Diagnostik und Therapie Rheumatologie/Immunologie (CIRI)“ als Partner-Institut der Goethe-Universität zur Durchführung klinischer Forschung als konsequente Weiterentwicklung dieses Bereiches in Frankfurt am Main.

Dr. Behrens ist (Gründungs-)Mitglied verschiedener internationalen Gremien und Arbeitsgruppen wie GRAPPA (Group of Research and Assessment of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis), EPOSS (Expert Panel on outcome of systemic sclerosis), PAGE (Psoriatic Arthritis Genetic European Consortium) und anderen. Er hat seit 2001 Erfahrung in der Durchführung klinischer Studien als Prüfarzt, Hauptprüfer und leitender Prüfer für Deutschland. Er ist mitverantwortlich für eine der größten Investigator-initiierten Studien (IIT) innerhalb der Rheumatologie in Deutschland und Initiator des deutschen Studiennetzwerks NESTRA.

Publikationen

zurück